Scott Wood Selected To Participate In NBA D-League Three-Point Contest

Official Release | February 9, 2017

NEW YORK, Feb. 9, 2017 – The NBA Development League announced today that Santa Cruz Warriors guard Scott Wood has been invited to compete in the 2017 NBA D-League Three-Point Contest on Saturday, Feb. 18 at the Mercedes-Benz Superdome in New Orleans.

Wood (6-5, 175-lb) averages 14.4 points, 4.2 rebounds, and 1.2 assists per game in 31.2 minutes. He averages 44.5% shooting from beyond-the-arc and recently broke Santa Cruz’s all-time franchise record for made three-point shots in a game (10) in the Jan. 28 home game vs. Rio Grande Valley.

The two-round competition tips off during NBA All-Star Practice and culminates during halftime of the 2017 NBA D-League All-Star Game presented by Kumho Tire, which begins at 2:30 p.m. ET. The final round of both the Slam Dunk and the Three-Point Contest will air live on NBA TV during halftime of the NBA D-League All-Star Game. The first round of each event will be streamed live on the NBA D-League’s Facebook page, beginning with the Slam Dunk preliminary at 12:30 p.m. ET and continuing with the Three-Point Contest preliminary at 2:00 p.m. ET.

Joining Wood behind the arc in New Orleans are Reggie Hearn (Reno Bighorns), Scott Wood (Santa Cruz Warriors), Devondrick Walker (Delaware 87ers), Gabe York (Erie BayHawks), Pierre Jackson, and Kevin Murphy (Grand Rapids Drive). Wood and York are two of three players to have connected on an NBA D-League season high of 10 three-point field goals made.

In the NBA D-League Three-Point Contest, each competitor will have 60 seconds to sink up to 25 shots from five shooting stations around the three-point line. Four stations will have four orange balls (worth one point each) and one multi-colored “money ball” (worth two points each). The fifth station consists of five two-point “money balls,” which each competitor can position at any of the five shooting locations. The top two scorers from the first round advance to the final round, and the competitor with the highest score in the final round wins the contest.

The full roster of participants is below. All players must be on an active NBA D-League roster at the time of the event to compete.

NBA D-League Three-Point Contest:
Player (Team) Ht. Wt. College Birthdate
Reggie Hearn (Reno) 6-5 210 Northwestern 8/14/1991
Scott Wood (Santa Cruz) 6-5 175 NC State 6/21/1990
Pierre Jackson (Texas) 5-11 176 Baylor 8/29/1991
Devondrick Walker (Delaware) 6-5 205 Texas A&M Commerce 7/11/1992
Gabe York (Erie) 6-3 190 Arizona 8/2/1993
Kevin Murphy (Grand Rapids) 6-6 185 Tennessee Tech 3/6/1990

Related articles